About the Air Force Achievement Medal


Air Force Achievement Medal  pic

Air Force Achievement Medal
Image: afpc.af.mil

For more than two decades, Anthony Hartman has worked as a self-employed business consultant in Dallas, Texas. Previously a captain in the United States Air Force, Anthony “Tony” Hartman received the Air Force Achievement Medal in recognition of his service.

The Air Force Achievement Medal is given to individuals below the rank of colonel who have demonstrated outstanding achievement or meritorious service during their time with the armed forces. It is primarily used to recognize specific accomplishments rather than continued periods of service. Those individuals who receive the medal for their actions during hostile acts, single acts of terrorism, or combat conditions receive a bronze letter “V” device with their medal.

Designed by Captain Robert C. Bonn Jr., the Air Force Achievement award features a distinctive border consisting of 11 cloudlike shapes. Within the center of the medallion are thunderbolts and wings. These symbols signify the striking power of the Air Force through aerospace; the image was adapted from the Air Force’s official seal.

The award was first authorized by the secretary of the Air Force in October 1980, and the bronze “V” was retroactively authorized in January 1996.


AFCM – Recognizing Distinguished Air Force Personnel Service

Air Force Commendation Model pic

Air Force Commendation Model
Image: usafeenlistedheritage.org

A business consultant based in Dallas, Texas, Anthony “Tony” Hartman has worked with some of the nation’s top agencies, including the US Department of Defense, the Federal Aviation Administration, and NASA. An Air Force veteran, Anthony Hartman of Dallas, Texas, was awarded an Air Force Commendation Model (AFCM) for meritorious service.

The AFCM was authorized for award in March 1958 to Air Force officers who distinguished themselves in service. Award recipients, usually personnel below the rank of brigadier general, must have served honorably and achieved distinctive merit or acted courageously without willful risk of life.

The medal is made of bronze and shaped in a hexagon. At the center is the Air Force seal; an eagle perched atop a baton, wings spread open. Below the seal is a shield flanked by flyer’s wings on the left and right sides, and eight lightning bolts behind.

Authorized devices include a bronze oak leaf cluster for additional awards of the AFCM and a “v” device for distinguished service in the face of hostility.